University of Zagreb / Sveuciliste u Zagrebu

The University of Zagreb is the oldest and biggest university in South-Eastern Europe, founded in 1669. As a comprehensive public Central European university, University of Zagreb offers education and research and in all scientific fields (arts, biomedicine, biotechnology, engineering, humanities, natural sciences and social sciences) and a broad spectrum of courses at all study levels, from undergraduate to postgraduate. The University excels not only in teaching, but also in research, contributing with over 50 percent to the annual research output in Croatia and 80 percent of scientific productivity of all Croatian universities.

The UNIZAG-FSB is one of 29 Faculties of the University of Zagreb. It consists of 13 Departments divided into 37 chairs, 3 independent chairs, 41 laboratories and 3 EU accredited laboratories, and has over 2000 active students and 234 researchers including 74 junior researchers.

The main activity of UNIZAG-FSB is related to education and R&D funded by the government, Croatian Science Foundation, and in some cases domestic or international industries. It has traditionally strong presence in research areas of energy and process engineering, environmental management, transport, material science, advanced product design, engineering mechanics, robotics, automation, industrial engineering, naval architecture and aerospace engineering. A secondary activity includes providing specific services to companies and industries, such as those related to accredited laboratory measurements, but only in different contexts than the one of this project.

The UNIZAG participates in the SOLEZ project through engagement of its Automotive Control Group (, which currently includes 16 researchers and is engaged in different aspects of conventional and electric vehicle and vehicle fleet modelling, control and optimisation, including integration of electric vehicle into the grid.